My Latest Top 10 Spotify Review...Has It Gotten Worse?

  • Published on: 12 January 2021
  • After a 4 month break, I decided to check back in on the Top 10 Pop songs worldwide.

    BEATO EAR TRAINING → https://beatoeartraining.com

    THE BEATO CLUB → https://bit.ly/322AGO1

    BUY THE BEATO BOOK HERE → https://bit.ly/2UsvaTD

    MY HELIX PRESETS →https://flatfiv.co/products/rick-beato-helix-pack-1

    KEMPER PROFILES → https://bit.ly/34mF3EY

    SUBSCRIBE HERE → http://bit.ly/2eEs9gX

    ——————————————————————————————————————

    My Links to Follow:

    YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/RickBeato

    Follow my Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rickbeato1/

    ——————————————————————————————

    Special Thanks to My Supporters:
    Kevin Wu
    David Harris
    Robert Zapolis
    Jeremy Kreamer
    Sean Munding
    Jim Zaroulis
    Nat Linville
    Bobby Alcott
    Peter Glen
    Robert Marqusee
    James Hurster
    John Nieradka
    Grey Tarkenton
    Joe Armstrong
    Brian Smith
    Robert Hickerty
    comboy
    Peter DeVault
    Phil Mingin
    Tal Harber
    Rick Taylor
    Bill Miller
    Gabriel Karaffa
    Frederick Humphrey
    Frederick Humphrey
    Brett Bottomley
    Debbie Valle
    Nathan Hanna
    Stephen Dahl
    Scott McCroskey
    Dave Ling
    Rick Walker
    Jason Lowman
    Jake Stringer
    Piush Dahal
    Jim Sanger
    Brian Lawson
    Eddie Khoriaty
    Ronnie Thompson
    CL Turner
    Vinny Piana
    Vijay Vaidyanathan
    Kyle Dandurand
    DOUGLAS BUTTON
    Michael Krugman
    Vinicius Almeida
    Lars Nielsen
    Kyle Duvall
    Alex Zuzin
    tom gilberts
    Paul Noonan
    Scott Thompson
    Jaime Villescas
    Kaeordic Industries LLC
    Duane Blake
    Kai Ellis
    Zack Kirkorian
    Joe Ansaldi
    Rob Kline
    Calvin Wells
    David Trapani
    JP Rosato
    Orion Letizi
    Mike Voloshen
    Peter Pillitteri
    Jeremy Hickerson
    Travis Ahrenholtz
  • Runtime : 16:46
  • rick beato everything music rick beato music music production education billboard hot 100 top 10 songs best songs of the week songs of the week billboard top 10 top 10 songs 2020 best songs of 2020 new music 2020 top 50 songs pop music dababy maluma hawaii letra 24kgoldn jason derulo spotify playlist playlist rap 2020 trap pop music video billie eilish olivia rodrigo drivers license justin bieber Lil nas x ariana grande kid laroi hvme goosebumps

COMMENTS: 40

  • Rua
    Rua   2 hours ago

    today music is garbage

  • Alexander Fezza
    Alexander Fezza   6 hours ago

    This week was pretty good. I thought "Good Days" by SZA was amazing. "Driver's License" by Olivia Rodrigo and "Therefore I Am" by Billie Eilish are good too.

  • Richard Matta
    Richard Matta   7 hours ago

    40 years from now people will still be listening to Pink Floyd, Queen and the Beatles. No one will remember Ariana Grande or Justin Bieber. In fact, I listened a few minutes ago and can’t remember a single song.

  • Andrés Celis
    Andrés Celis   9 hours ago

    All these stupid songs sound like indie sounded 10-15 years ago

  • Diesal one
    Diesal one   9 hours ago

    You should check out "The New Alt" playlist! "Leave Me Alone" is amazing!

  • Allan MacFarlane
    Allan MacFarlane   10 hours ago

    RICK BEATO: "OK, so thats the top 10 pop songs that are out right now, I think it is very much improved from 4 months ago..."2021 MUSIC INDUSTRY SUITS: "Hold my beer!..."

  • David Bowersox
    David Bowersox   10 hours ago

    The original Goosebumps by Travis Scott is so much better, all I can think of is RL Grime's Halloween V

  • Dean Cooledge
    Dean Cooledge   10 hours ago

    I don’t like the processed vocals. No dynamics.

  • NaTe Garrido
    NaTe Garrido   12 hours ago

    so... this is where all the music talent I asked for endedn up... ok, not mad tho

  • amedadamm
    amedadamm   13 hours ago

    It is true music "sounds"depressing lately ,almost similar to each other , the excess of beats and other computer special effects but at the same time deconstructing the song and getting back to basics, lets say one guitar only they sound beautiful MTV unplugged style .If you tell me they wont sound like the 50's of course not because it is a difference of music style the 50's was rock-a-billy ,even the beats are faster and the move in the guitar ,today there is more like jamming really slow music like a ballad with loud speakers and autotune with some tracks of older songs the result new songs for a new audience for a new age .The ironic part is the producers are in their 50's ,meaning ...they grow with Billy Joel,Elton John,and other 80's bands and they studied Alan Parson Project and The Beatles ,they grow with disco but they return to the 90's and that depressant wave with new toys bass boost ,lol.

  • alma
    alma   13 hours ago

    literally just like 2 seconds into the songRick: "Ok so..."

  • WiseArt Music
    WiseArt Music   13 hours ago

    That #1 song driver license was very good actually struck a chord with me loved it

  • tazmon122
    tazmon122   13 hours ago

    i swear the Billie Eilish song is a nod to her TM who used to be in a wicked good Boston hardcore band called Therefore I Am.

  • E Mc
    E Mc   14 hours ago

    Video title made me think: aw man, classic example of an elder musician bashing new generation—lame. Shoulda known Rick would do the absolute opposite. Really special when older (and respectable) names are open minded about unfamiliar upcoming artists and genres.

  • Pedone Rosso
    Pedone Rosso   14 hours ago

    To my personal taste, many of these pop tunes are basically ruined by the autotuned vocals.Thanks for your videos!

  • That One Guy
    That One Guy   14 hours ago

    Olivia Rodrigo? You mean..Bizaardvark Olivia Rodrigo?

  • That One Guy
    That One Guy   14 hours ago

    I was not impressed at all with Billie Eilish, but Finneas? Whoa. Incredible.

  • NiNi Na
    NiNi Na   15 hours ago

    These TOP 10 are actually better than the last ones. 🙂After watching your last charts video I actually had a look at the top 50 of different countries. Russia was interesting, but I really loved Italy because there was so much variety. I highly recommend it, it's so fun.

  • Dion Bowen
    Dion Bowen   15 hours ago

    I don’t know if you have ever done it or not, but would love to get your take on the production value of NF

  • Tom Hartmann
    Tom Hartmann   16 hours ago

    Could you do a WHAT MAKE THAT SONG GREAT about Drivers License! Would be stoked to hear the stems!

  • ARDA AĞIN
    ARDA AĞIN   17 hours ago

    Hey Rick! I would like to hear your thoughts about Kaleo.

  • Dan G
    Dan G   17 hours ago

    Love ricks reaction to Biebers song! Awesome. Your a talented musician Rick so glad I found this channel

  • I
    I   18 hours ago

    monster takes alot from Nao's work. So does Sza actually

  • Gatherers
    Gatherers   18 hours ago

    In the UK on bbc I player you can go back and view Top of the pops (what was the biggest uk music show) from the 80's and 90s quite a few of the top 10s from either era were worse than this. Loads of novelty tracks, then you see absolute classics not moving much in the top 40.

  • Tiga Wu
    Tiga Wu   18 hours ago

    Rick is just flexing his ears

  • Alan Burton
    Alan Burton   18 hours ago

    It’s interesting to see which songs you have your “producer’s hat” on and which you have your “player’s hat” on. I’ve never heard any of these songs, but it sounds to me that for a few variations on chord structure, most of them could have very comfortably been released 5 years ago. And I disagree with you about the Ariana Grande song; I like that someone in their 20’s has what sounds like actual string parts on their album, with some nice changes no less. The Billie Eyelash/Sza/Justin Bieber songs have their vocals so bathed in effects it’s difficult to make out lyrics. I guess you can make just about anything palatable to the masses if you package/market it correctly...

  • Scape Goat
    Scape Goat   21 hours ago

    I miss hearing instruments. I'm so tired of everything in the audio being crushed so that we can only hear the vocals. I find it grating. Many of these songs just sound like narcissism. That's what happens when music is about celebrity. No modern radio pop is inspiring anyone to learn how to play an instrument.

  • Alan David
    Alan David   21 hours ago

    this how I learned guitar, playing records and figuring out the chords,but records were tricky, you couldnt stop anywhere you wanted to.But it worked in 1963 ha..

  • Una nimous
    Una nimous   23 hours ago

    Rick would you like to react to OPM’s (Original Pilipino Music)

  • Pasquale
    Pasquale   23 hours ago

    We god damn miss the Rock n Roll on all.!!! Thats it

  • henderstoned
    henderstoned   1 days ago

    This man gets it! the eye or ear of the beholder there is still beauty even in over produced and engineered 🎶 music

  • fanatic26
    fanatic26   1 days ago

    Pop music is in such a sad generic place. Not one of these has anything memorable about them. Even now, seconds after the video ends, I struggle to hear a single one of these songs in my head. So unremarkable as to be gone already.

  • Experiencia Javi
    Experiencia Javi   1 days ago

    Some songs are quiet weird and surprising. On the former video I didn't think this is a good idea but Rick helps us oldies catch up with the new production values. Nice video and as always very instructing and enjoyable.

  • MasterAdam100
    MasterAdam100   1 days ago

    Sorry but it all sounds way too similar and the effects of the vocals is way too echoy.

  • Mark Sulka
    Mark Sulka   1 days ago

    It's amazing how your guitar is already tuned with many of these songs at first pass playing by ear. In 70's or 80's classic rock, it seems like the tuning is all over the place and you need a capo to keep up with any assortment of hits.